01
Mar
10

Third Assignment

Charcoal, drawn from photo using subtractive method (erasing). The assignment was to use value to create mood and emotion.

I got the idea to draw it double while biking home from school after a long day and I was literally seeing double. I

Size: 20″ x 20″

“Jack”

3 Responses to “Third Assignment”


  1. 1 Katie
    March 29, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Awesome. Hmm. Thoughts.
    Wine glasses and Jack, that makes for one hell of a night, eh? Brings back memories, but there’s a mood here that is more honest – you’ve got the wine glasses, the roses, the candlelight… but instead of the intended romance, it’s like a postmodern slap back to reality. This is alcohol, one glass tipped over, roses scattered. It reminds me of those “wear a helmet when biking” ads when they put an egg in a helmet, and then compare it to one without one as they crash to the ground.

  2. 2 Dianne Foss
    April 10, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Hi Dan! It was so good to see you at my graduation! I really appreciated your coming, also Craig. Your work is really good. You’ve got a passionate, colorful, authentic talent my friend. I would love to have a copy of your Jack Daniels drawing if possible. I work with people who have drinking problems who want to learn to moderate. I’m sure I could use this picture many times over with clients. (See 3/16 article in the Denver Post about Do You Drink Too Much?)

    Thanks so much, and I hope you’ll keep me on your blog to see more pictures you draw!

    Dianne Foss


Leave a Reply

I am an artist living and practicing in Denver.

nillvurt@gmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


