01
Feb
10

First Project

Inspired by a chair…we got to cut out paper and glue it together, like in grade school.

Construction paper, 9″ x 12″ each

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “First Project”


  1. 1 Mary
    March 29, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Hey Daniel, I’m loving your drawings/paintings. This “chair” is so simple and so appealing.

  2. September 7, 2011 at 2:26 am

    I enjoy the first couple of contour “Sucker” drawings but then you get ahead of yourself especially at the point where you state “Implied Line” Sir every single line used in that particular composition is expressed and not one single implied line exists therein! Are you self taught? It seems that you may have gaps in your understanding of terminology which might confuse a young student — best not to say things when uncertain
    Your implied line is as expressed as is your contour line — that is a big technical error!

    • September 8, 2011 at 12:48 am

      Thank you for your comment!
      I agree that it is not an implied line. Somehow my teacher did not care. I can change it to something else, and I apologize for confusing people; I hope I didn’t confuse you.

      As far as it being a big technical error, in the grand scheme of things it is very small, especially since it is kind of a lame exercise, a first drawing assignment in Drawing 1. It is not art, just technical practice and an introduction to the different forms of line that can be used.

      Technical expertise and perfect terminology does not make art. I am in no way a successful artist, but I believe that no one will care if I did implied lines, or contour lines, as long as they work for whatever I am trying to say. In this instance there is just a somewhat crappy rendering of lollipops. I put them up, since I was very excited about my first drawing, having believed that I couldn’t draw.

      Take care!

      Daniel


Leave a Reply

I am an artist living and practicing in Denver.

nillvurt@gmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


